All White

I don’t know when I became the type of person who deliberates between 6 almost identical shades of white in the quest to find the ‘perfect’ white paint for their living room, but it’s happened. (Probably right around the time I started referring to rooms in my house as ‘spaces’ but hey ho…).

I read a brilliant post on Rock my Style (http://rockmystyle.co.uk/the-right-white/) which I think started me off on my quest. I was also inspired by the thousands of minimalist white Scandinavian living rooms on Pinterest and wanted to replicate their airy but slightly masculine feel.

I wanted a pure minimalist white, without shades of cream or grey, but that wasn’t too stark or cold. Simple right?

The general feeling about paint seems to be, when in doubt, go Farrow and Ball. Looking at lots of pictures online, the one I was leaning towards was All White, which according to F&B ‘unusually contains no other pigment except white and creates the softest most sympathetic white with none of the uncomfortable cold blue feeling of a brilliant white’. Perfect. But that still didn’t stop me from trying out:

  • Brilliant White by Dulux – I ended up using this in my dressing room, mainly because I trusted the brand and it was inexpensive (although not the cheapest white). Very white but has none of the warmth of All White and is very stark. Not sure I’d use this again.
  • Strong White by F&B – beautiful but had a definite look of grey. Would be beautiful in a bathroom and I’m tempted to use this elsewhere in the house.
  • Wimborne White by F&B – more cream than white. Nice but not the look I was going for.
  • Sail White by Crown – had a dingy, slightly grey look but without the elegance of Strong White.

So 5 swatches later I decided upon the one I’d originally been leaning towards:

img_0090

All White in action

Except courtesy of my wonderful decorator I actually got it matched in a durable finish by Johnstone’s – and the debate between natural and synthetic pigment paint is worthy of another post in itself!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

